The Caribou City Council held an organizational meeting at 7:00 p.m. Monday, January 4, 2010 in Council Chambers with the following members present: Mayor Kenneth G. Murchison, Jr., Karla M. Bell, R. Mark Goughan, Christopher A. R. Bell, David Martin, Mary Kate Barbosa, and John R. Boone.

Steven R. Buck, City Manager, was present.

Barbara Scott, representing the Aroostook Republican; and Time Warner covered the meeting.

Swear in John R. Boone and Karla M. Bell to the Caribou City Council. (City Clerk, Judy Corrow)

The Clerk administered the oath of office to John R. Boone and Karla M. Bell for three years.

Council Agenda item #1: Election of Chairperson/Mayor for the City Council for 2010.

Motion made by C. Bell, seconded by MK Barbosa, to nominate Kenneth G. Murchison, Jr. for Mayor of the 2010 Caribou City Council.

Motion made by C. Bell, seconded by K. Bell, to cease nominations. (7 yes) So voted.

Kenneth G. Murchison, Jr. was unanimously elected Mayor of the 2010 Caribou City Council by a show of hands.

Council Agenda item #2: Election of Deputy Chairperson/Mayor for the City Council for 2010.

Motion made by C. Bell, seconded by D. Martin, to nominate Karla M. Bell for Deputy Mayor of the 2010 Caribou City Council.

Motion made by C. Bell, seconded by D. Martin, to cease nominations. (6 yes, 1 abstention, K. Bell) So voted.

Karla M. Bell was unanimously elected Deputy Mayor of the 2010 Caribou City Council by a show of hands.

Council Agenda item #3: Consider appointment of a Secretary to the City Council for 2010.

Motion made by D. Martin, seconded by MK Barbosa, to appoint Judy Corrow as Secretary to the City Council for 2010. (7 yes) So voted.

<u>Council Agenda item #4:</u> Establish a date, time, location and rules of procedure for regular meetings of the City Council for the year 2010.

Motion made by D. Martin, seconded by K. Bell, to set the second and fourth Monday of each month at 7:00 p.m. as the posted meeting dates to be held in the Council Chambers, 25 High Street – A workshop will be part of the second meeting of the month following the conclusion of

the business meeting for those subjects needing further development prior to Council actions – Meetings are to be conducted using Roberts Rules. (6 yes, 1 no, M. Goughan) So voted.

<u>Council Agenda item #5:</u> Consider authorizing the continuation of City Government functions from January 1, 2010 until final adoption of the 2010 City Budget.

Motion made by K. Bell, seconded by MK Barbosa, to continue municipal operations under as per the 2009 Budget until such time as the Council has adopted the 2010 calendar year budget pursuant to Charter section 5.08 (c). (7 yes) So voted.

<u>Council Agenda item #6:</u> Consider authorizing the City Manager to approve Treasurer's Warrants for 2010.

Motion made by D. Martin, seconded by C. Bell, to authorize the City Manager as the Council's representative for the purpose of reviewing and signing the municipal warrants for 2009, pursuant to Charter section 5.02. (7 yes) So voted.

Council Agenda item #7: Consider appointment of Administrative City Officers for 2010.

Motion made by K. Bell, seconded by D. Martin, to appoint the slate of Administrative City Officers for 2010 as listed. (7 yes) So voted.

The following administrative officers were appointed:

City Clerk Judy-Ann Corrow Deputy City Clerk Javne R. Farrin City Treasurer Wanda L. Ouellette Finance Director Wanda L. Ouellette Deputy Treasurer Mary Ann Scott Tax Assessor Elizabeth O'Bar Tax Collector Wanda L. Ouellette Director of Parks & Recreation Kathleen Mazzuchelli

Emergency Management Director Roy E. Woods Public Works Director **David Ouellette Building Inspector** Stephen Wentworth Assistant Building Inspector Roy E. Woods General Assistance Administrator Ellen S. Gendreau Health Officer Stephen Wentworth Plumbing Inspector Stephen Wentworth Alternate Plumbing Inspector Rebecca McBreairty Alternate Code Enforcement Officer Rebecca McBreairty Electrical Inspector Stephen Wentworth Stephen Wentworth Code Enforcement Officer Jeanie McGowan Nylander Museum Director Librarian Diane Dubois

Community Development Director Michael Shrewsberry

Caribou Police Officers

Michael W. Gahagan

Ronald A. Curtis

Edward Dubie

Keith K. Ouellette

Kevin P. St. Peter

Dwight Wilcox

John Deveau

Paul L. Vincent

Mark A. Gahagan

Craig A. Peterson

Douglas W. Bell

Keith K. Ouellette

Dwight Wilcox

John Deveau

Jason Matheson

Corey Saucier

Jay Trainer

Caribou Police Reserve

Dale Campbell Philip McDonough III

Anthony Collins

Darryl Hitchcock

Erik Jandreau

Neal Ouellette
Ryan Fitzpatrick
Arik Jepson

Dog Constable

Charles Ketch

<u>Council Agenda item #8:</u> Consider authorizing the collection of property tax before the 2010 commitment date and pay no interest (0%) on prepayments.

Motion made by C. Bell, seconded by D. Martin, to authorize the tax collector to accept payments toward property taxes prior to the 2010 commitment date and pay no interest (0%) on said prepayments. (7 yes) So voted.

Council Agenda item #9: Consider authorizing the City to provide a Tax Club for 2010.

Motion made by K. Bell, seconded by MK Barbosa, to authorize a Tax Club for 2010 as previously established for 12 equal payments of an account liability with no interest for October, November and December. (7 yes) So voted.

Council Agenda item #10: Executive Session: Consider moving to Executive Session to discuss the fulfilling vacancies of appointed Board positions pursuant to MRSA Title 1 Chapter 13 Section 405 (6)(A).

7:14 p.m. Motion made by C. Bell, seconded by K. Bell, to move to Executive Session to discuss the fulfilling vacancies of appointed Board positions pursuant to MRSA Title 1 Chapter 13 Section 405 (6)(A). (7 yes) So voted.

7:33 p.m. Returned from Executive Session.

Motion made by C. Bell, seconded by K. Bell, to authorize the City Manager to continue to work with John Swanberg and Miles Williams in the nomination process as potential trustees of the LDA Board. (7 yes) So voted.

Motion made by C. Bell, seconded by D. Martin, to re-appoint Richard Fortier and James Zapatka to the Planning Board for three years. (7 yes) So voted.

Motion made by C. Bell, seconded by K. Bell, due to time constraints for David Sokolich, that he be removed from the Caribou Planning Board with regrets. (7 yes) So voted.

Motion made by K. Bell, seconded by C. Bell, to appoint James Cerrato to the Caribou Planning Board to fill the remaining term of David Sokolich. (7 yes) So voted.

Motion made by D. Martin, seconded by K. Bell, to appoint Lynn McNeal to the LDA Planning Board. (7 yes) So voted.

Motion made by D. Martin, seconded by C. Bell, to move the slate of the remainder of the appointments of the Zoning Board of Appeals, the Cary Board of Directors, the Hospital District, the Utilities District, and the Registration Board of Appeals for three year terms each. (7 yes) So voted.

The following were appointed:

Zoning Board of Appeals David Genthner, Sr.

Cary Board of Directors Rob Kieffer

Dr. Sherri Dumont

Hospital District Norman Collins Utilities District Louis Greenier

Scott Willey

Reg Board of Appeals Doris Pelkey

Jacqueline Beaupre

The Mayor went on to complete the Council Committees:

Personnel Committee David Martin (Chair)

Karla Bell Mark Goughan

Christopher Bell

Airport Committee Christopher Bell (Chair)

Karla Bell

Mary Kate Barbosa

Highway/Protection Karla Bell (Chair)

Mary Kate Barbosa

John Boone

CCC&I Christopher Bell

Investment Committee Mark Goughan (Chair)

David Martin

John Boone

Tri-Community Kenneth Murchison

Mark Goughan

Nylander Board Mary Kate Barbosa

NMDC Board Karla Bell

CADET Mary Kate Barbosa
Municipal Bldg Committee David Martin (Chair)

Kenneth Murchison

Karla Bell

Planning Board liaison would be decided at a later date.

7:47 p.m. Motion made by C. Bell, seconded by K. Bell, to adjourn. (7 yes) So voted.

Judy-Ann Corrow, Secretary