|Caribou Municipal Building
25 High St
Caribou, Maine 04736
|Lisa Plourde, Executive Director
Sue Ouellette, FSS/Homeownership
Phone: (207) 493-4234
Fax: (207) 376-0178
Change in Landlord/Management Information
Follow the Caribou Housing Agency on Facebook
State law contains specific rights and obligations for tenants and landlords. The following resources provide general information on Maine Landlord/Tenant laws. For specific advice, you should contact a legal attorney.
This latest version of a model lease was developed by the Maine Attorney General and the Maine Human Rights Commission to provide landlords and tenants with an example that is both reasonable and understandable. It is intended as a teaching tool that provides basic information about the law and raises awareness of areas where further research is advisable. It does not include all of the laws applicable to landlords and tenants.
The Maine Attorney General’s Office publishes the Consumer Law Guide, a technical summary of the law with references to the specific statutes. The Guide includes chapters on consumer rights when renting an apartment (Chapter 14), consumer rights when living in a mobile home (chapter 15), and a model lease (Chapter 16). For more information, see www.maine.gov/ag and click on the Consumer Law Guide, or call 1-800-436-2131.
Bed bugs are becoming much more common in Maine. For more information regarding landlord and tenant responsibilities related to bed bugs, see also Pine Tree Legal Assistance’s The Rights of Tenants in Maine . Additional information, including a link to the relevant statutory language, is available on the Maine CDC website.
A tenant who will be paying energy costs has the right to get information on the last 12 months of energy use from the energy supplier(s). Before a tenant enters into a contract or pays a deposit to rent or lease a property, the landlord shall provide the energy efficiency disclosure statement, obtain a signature, and keep a copy on file for three years.
Landlords are required to have the air in each building with rental units tested for the presence of radon by March 1, 2014. The testing must be done by a State registered radon tester and must be repeated every 10 years. The landlord must provide written notice about radon and the results of the radon testing to each potential tenant before the tenant signs a lease or pays the deposit to rent and also to existing tenants. The tenant must sign the notice. If radon test results are 4 pCI/l or higher, the landlord must mitigate those levels within six months, or if a local permit is required, six months from the date of the permit, and provide written notice of the results to the tenants.
Service Animals in Housing
The Maine Human Rights Act requires that housing providers usually allow service animals on the premises. There are certain exceptions, such as if the service animal is unsafe or overly disruptive, but service animals generally must be allowed.
Smoke Detectors and Carbon Monoxide Detectors
Landlords are required to provide working smoke detectors and carbon monoxide detectors at the time a property or unit is rented. Tenants are required to keep the batteries in the detectors charged and to test the detectors. Tenants are prohibited from disabling the smoke detectors. Landlords are required to repair or replace a smoke detector or carbon monoxide detector if a tenant provides written notice to the landlord that the detector is not working properly.
Adopting smoke-free policies reduces property damage and fire danger and saves property owners and managers money. Learn more about making your property smoke-free.
Landlords are required to provide written notice to tenants and potential tenants about whether or not smoking is allowed. The notice must state whether smoking is prohibited on the premises, allowed on the premises, or allowed in limited areas. If the landlord allows smoking in limited areas, the notice must identify where smoking is allowed. A landlord may notify a tenant of the smoking policy in a written lease agreement, or provide a separate written notice. The landlord must provide this written notice before a tenant enters into a contract or pays a deposit to rent or lease the property.